Five keys to bringing hope

Standard

Sometimes I get asked about the steps someone should take in launching an effort to bring relief and hope to the world.  As though there’s a special formula for investing your time and resources to make a difference. I’ve seen all kinds of campaigns come and go – but here are five simple keys I put on my Twitter account last week that seem to be universal when we talk about bringing hope.

Do you have others? I’d appreciate hearing them in the comment section.

KEYS TO BRINGING HOPE:

1.  Stop arguing over petty things. What was your last argument about?Self-focused or others-focused.

2. Put away selfish ambition.

3. Ask how you can help rather than forcing your plans.

4. Listen and learn. Investigate history,seek counsel,take the best and humbly run with it.

5.  Courage not to look the other way.Let the troubles of the world move you.You are the someone.Today is the day.

5 thoughts on “Five keys to bringing hope

  1. Here are some I brainstormed:
    ~Act out of pure, selfless, Christ-like LOVE.
    ~Check your motives: Why do you want to do what you want to do? For mortal recognition; or truly for the good of others, simply because it is what God commands (no matter what it costs your reputation)?
    ~Rise above low expectations. Guard your heart and mind, resisting the pulls and desires of the world.
    ~Passion and determination—not merely an interest, but an inner drive that will strive through challenges.
    ~Swallow your pride. Don’t be afraid to ask for help. You can accomplish so much more with cooperation. Act first and always with God, and then invite others to join you.

    “Be joyful in hope, patient in affliction, faithful in prayer.” Romans 12:12

  2. Love unconditionally. Go out of your way to extend the love that Christ extends to you.

    Don’t allow your inadequacies to hold you captive – Dive in and let God blow you away.

    Remember that nothing is too small; no effort is too unworthy and no person too insignificant.

    When the going gets tough, keep going.

    Never settle. The world will tell you it’s not your responsibility… Don’t listen.

  3. One thing we cannot do is let our passions overwhelm our love for God… Lately I have struggled with putting my passion ahead of God instead of surrendering them to God so that He can work in them through me. The other night, during a worship night with my classmates, I finally surrendered my passion, my cause, and the parts of my life I was holding out on to God. I feel so free!!! And so much more capable to do things for Him. I’m excited to see what else God has in store for me. =]

  4. First time here. But contently not last.
    What i read on this post, made me think. And that’s rare my friend these days.

    “Ask how you can help rather than forcing your plans.” So true!

    Thank you and god bless you.

Leave a Reply

